Probationary Member

Default Misbehaving children, I need some advice...

Hello, I am new to the forums, and am glad I found a site for teachers. I am in need of some advice. I am a kindergarten teacher, and have been for about 6 years now; my reward system for the kids who behave has always worked, until this bunch of kids. I allow them to pick a special item from my box of treats at the end of the week. If the kids are bad they don't get anything at all, but I allow all of them the opportunity to redeem themselves throughout the week and earn something from the box.

Well this year nobody cares, they all talk out of turn to each other when they shouldn't be, run in the halls, plat around, and just won't listen. They don't care what I say, and even when I send notes home, the kids and the parents don't care, it's the same each week.

I need something new to try, any ideas, or advice, I am very frustrated right now, and this is the first time I ever actually didn't enjoy my job as a teacher, what can I do?

I was thinking about a weekly reward program, where everyone still earns something, even the trouble ones, is that a bad idea? Should I get parents involved more, have more parent-teacher conferences, make them become involved? If they have to become more involved and are forced to come in because of their child misbehaving, maybe they will be more inclined to correct the situation.

Please help.

Thank you
    Jamie
    Last edited by ABCs123s; 01-30-2009 at 06:09 PM.