Default Strategies for Low Level Students

I don't know what term your school uses, but ours uses "foundational". After two years of teaching only sixth grade academic and accelerated classes, I have been informed that I will officially be teaching foundational classes next year. I'm a little stressed about this , and it's only January. I have no experience with these students because our school has (at least until the end of this year) a team dedicated to these struggling students. It is amazing how much success they have had. The reason for my stress is that I want to continue the success they have had.

I have talked to the teachers that are currently on our foundational team and they are set in their ways. They believe there is only one way to work with these students, which doesn't fit my style. In addition to your general suggestions, I'd like to know what you think about group work, hands-on projects, and discipline/management.

Thanks in advance!

Hey SS,

In our school, students can be pulled for smaller group instruction by the resource teacher for LA and math, but mostly for Social and Science they are left in with the rest of the students in the general classroom. The strategies you use with students who are low level will kinda depend on what the nature of their learning issue is. Generally speaking, in the regular class we do a couple things to modify instruction and assessment to help students out.
    1. chunk information into smaller parts, for students to process easier
    2. provide graphic organizers for students to record information in point form
    3. modify tests by eliminating one answer from multiple choice questions
    4. read to students when possible
    5. copy notes for those who have difficulty writing
    6. do hands on activities whenever possible
    7. give only 2 or 3 pieces of instruction at one time
    8. allow more time to complete assignments