Probationary Member

Default Classroom Management in the Inner City

I've been teaching art 1 in the inner city for three years now, this year has been the year I've reconsidered my career and/or school. Although, it is also the year I have mostly freshman, as opposed to usually having juniors/seniors.
    The noise level in most of my classes is ridiculous, or accepting responsibility for doing work, nothing works. Also, not to mention the profanity. Write-ups to the dean haven't worked. I've been brought to the point of saying "Shut the hell up" and "God damn, be quiet." I'm turning into the teacher I'd swore I wouldn't become. I feel I teach things that are relevant to them such as street art/graffiti art and the history of body art such as tattoos etc, and try to link it to the elements in principles of art.

Where did I go wrong? Advice please?

Oh Art, I completely know where you are coming from. Our freshman class this year has been incredibly difficult to manage as well. Kids come in with major chips on their shoulders, foul mouths, and poor attitudes. It's been a challenge to say the least. I think it is really neat that you design lessons around relevant issues like graffiti art and tattoos..how interesting. I myself would love to learn more about those areas.

One thing that I have done every year (I generally deal with freshmen) is to make it a point to do home visits on every one of my students. I prioritize the ones that need "immediate" attention and then go down the list from there. Granted, our school is not that large so I don't generally have more than 50 students total to go see, but in all honesty.. it is probably one of the most important things that I do every year. Relationships with my students has greatly improved and the lines of communication between myself and the parents/guardians is less tenuous.