Probationary Member

Default teacher being disrespectful

While I am used to aides being disresptful, this is my first time with another teacher and I need help. I teach special ed at a high school and have a govenment class for seniors. They all have to do a senior project. The entire school does one and I love it. The students research a topic, come up with a service project and present. All the special ed students I had before did great. I have 1 student this year whose topic is shaky. Mom works in the field and he knows a lot about it. So I said to him, let's work on the question more. The special ed math teacher decided to get involved, called mom and told her I had concerns. Mom panicked, didn't call me but called the math teacher and special ed chair and it became big. Now, the kid doesn't want to come to my class,when he does he is rude, I had my aide (the math teachers friend) tell me I was being unfair, and I still have concerns. I met with the math teacher, mom and admin today and the math teacher wants to meet with me and the student every time I talk about his project. I'm not sure how to continue supporting the student but more important how to work with someone who doesn't talk to me but calls parents because she disagrees with me.

Probationary Member

Default Hopeful help

Personally i've had a similar experience with a collegue sticking their oar in and disrupting my lessons and the respect the students had for me. I'm personally not a person to sit back and accept such actions so i was very direct and asked him to come for a coffee with me. Over coffee i professionally aired my views and disgust and reminded him that i wouldn't treat him the same. I was very professional but the teacher in question got the message. I personally think that you have to treat teacher bullys the sameway you tell your students - stand up to them. Otherwise you'll lose your respect and end up dreading going to work. Get it off your chest and be honest.