Hello everyone!

I am new to all this and not a teacher yet, however, I have been browsing the board and am really impressed! I hope to be a teacher soon and also hope you could give some advice about being hired.

I have an interview in a few weeks to become a Teaching Fellow in NYC. Part of the interview is a 5 minute teaching sample. I want to teach English or Special Ed, but I can teach anything I like:

Teaching Samples
At the beginning of the interview event, you will be expected to teach a five-minute sample lesson to your interviewers and the other candidates in your group. As a “teacher,” you should expect simple questions from your “students.” *snip* A successful lesson is organized around a main point or learning objective and makes use of age-appropriate materials and strategies to help students master the information. Examples of sample lessons include adding fractions, naming vegetables in Spanish, or reviewing how a bill becomes a law. It is not necessary for you to teach a lesson in the subject you would eventually like to teach. Please keep in mind that five minutes pass quickly. Choose specific learning objectives that you can present effectively during this limited time. We do not expect you to teach a lesson on a broad topic such as American literature; rather, you might teach a lesson on the difference between similes and metaphors. During the teaching sample, it is acceptable for you to assume prior knowledge in your students; you may communicate this to the interviewers and other candidates by beginning your lesson with a reference to an earlier lesson (e.g., “Yesterday we began talking about similes. Today, we’re going to continue talking about similes and learn about another literary device called a metaphor. Can someone tell me what a simile is?”).

Remember these key points for an effective sample lesson: