Probationary Member

Default help with small group management

Hello,

I am a new teacher and have been teaching for about a year. I teach small ELL groups. This year we made the switch to an in class structure. Now instead of taking students out of class I meet with small groups in class during reading time. My principal had some concerns this year about my behavior management and she wants me to work on a plan for next year that is aligned with the classroom rules (teachers had complained about my group's noise level). I work with students from multiple rooms. Most teachers in our school use a card or clip system (move a card or clip to a different color each time you disobey). Some have no system at all. Some of my groups have students from four different classes pulled in to one. My question is.....what would be a good system to have within my groups to control behavior? I thought about writing a student's name down and putting a check after it each time I had to warn them. Then when group is over they would move their clip that many times. The problem with this is that the consequences are enforced through their classroom system, not me. Also, I have very little time with my groups (25 minutes) so any distraction for behavior takes away precious minutes. For this reason time-outs are also not an option. I will have the same kids next year as I did this year. I need to have something set in place for the first day of school and show them they cannot steamroll over me like they did last year. HELP!