Senior Member Snake Champion smithmt's Avatar
    Home of The Pork Tenerloin Sandwhich: Iowa!

Default High School Remedial Reading

Ok, so I am a theatre teacher who has "lucked" into a reading class of high schoolers on a 2nd-5th grade reading level. I have no experience with teaching reading. I recently administered the Flynt & Cooter Informal Reading Inventory to find where they are. I've been doing dittos for a while and I don't have any idea where to go. I have no resources except what I can find, which as a theatre teacher, I'm used to begging, borrowing and stealing, but I'm out of my league...
    ideas?
    -Matt

I would go to the library and allow them to choose magazines that they are interested in. Choose articles out of the magazine and read them aloud together. Ask comprehension questions, etc. As time goes on, give them more and more independence until they are eventually reading and answering questions on their own.

You can find many articles online, also short stories. If you have access to the computer lab, allow the students to find their own reading selections.

You might also try having them bring in favorite books from childhood. The library can also be used for this. The students may enjoy reading stories they remember from years ago. You can still ask comprehension questions and all that. Mix one or two of these books with a harder assignment every so often. It will make the class seem less challengeing.

Senior Member Snake Champion smithmt's Avatar
    Home of The Pork Tenerloin Sandwhich: Iowa!

Quote Originally Posted by MissTeach View Post
    You can find many articles online, also short stories. If you have access to the computer lab, allow the students to find their own reading selections.