Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Kendall

Default asperger's syndrome

Hi, I'm a grade 2 teacher from Ontario. In September I will have a student in my class who has asperger's syndrome. He is above average in all subjects but is quite disruptive in class. His behavior includes arm flapping, speaking out and distracting others. He generally is a nice little boy but he has a big problem socially. He talks very close to other students and has no friends because his behavior is so different. I would really like to help this student so that others will be more accepting of him. I've read several articles on directly teaching children with asperger's how to communicate properly with other students. I'm wondering what techniques other teachers have used and if they were successful.
    Thanks!

mvanpelt

Hi. I will teach first grade this year, after a year of K, and 4 years of K-6 self-contained. One of the students I had in sped for 4 years was a little boy with autism-high functioning. This boy could read when he started K, and could always read above grade level. (comprehension was poor though) He too has many social problems, makes noises, and is disruptive to class. One thing I have seen work with him while he is in the reg classroom, is to have him read aloud to his classmates. They are all amazed at his ability to read more difficult material than they know how to read. Study your student's IEP & file and find out as much information as you can. Having a reward of some sort may help your student stay on task longer. My student would cooperate better when he was working toward computer time, tape player, bubbles, etc. Caution: The reward soon lost it's appeal to him, and we had to change frequently. We all eventually learned to ignore foot-tapping, pencil-tapping, etc. and concentrated on more serious behaviors. These students are very challenging but can bring you great joy. Good luck!

Member Space Invaders Champion scrivener's Avatar