PDA

View Full Version : I need help getting hired!

TennisPlayer
08-24-2007, 01:56 PM
I have only had 2 interviews for specific teaching jobs
within 3 years (they were last week and they chose someone
who has had their own classroom.)

I do not understand why I am not getting more interviews.
I am qualified to teach both General and Special Ed in
addition to having a Masters Degree. I have been
substituting for the past 3 years in several school districts, ever since I graduated from graduate school.

Any ideas on what else I can be doing to get hired?
People have told me I am a great teacher, I am very
organized, responsible, etc.

I appreciate your time and any ideas you have.

fireboat
08-29-2007, 01:54 AM

substituting for the past 3 years in several school districts, ever since I graduated from graduate school.

Any ideas on what else I can be doing to get hired?
People have told me I am a great teacher, I am very
organized, responsible, etc.

I appreciate your time and any ideas you have.

It could be a number of things....

Depending on your area, teaching jobs might be very hard to come by. In some area of the US (like the area where I live) there can be over 100 candidates for a single open position.

First, begin by backtracking..... ask a close friend of family member to help you out with this..... and tell them to be brutally honest...

- Show them your letters of recommendation. Ask them if they see ANY potential red flags. Even if it's something you overlooked yourself. If there are any, then get a new letter from someone else.

- Go your your resume and cover letter with them. Be 100% positive there are no type-ohs or ambiguous wording. Again, have them look for any red flags you might have missed.

- Be sure your cover letter has a powerful opening sentence and philosophy statement. Be sure the layout is attractive-- not too plain so it gets lost in the pile. (same w/ resume)